GSoC 2013 – First progress report

As you might know, I was accepted to work on Rainy during Google Summer of Code 2013. It is a great opportunity to turn Rainy into something great, and I am happy to give my first status update about what I’ve been doing the last three weeks and what I am up to in the next time.

Rainy has grown to an extend where I thought it might be a good idea to have public website (not only a blog about it) online, and for some month the home of Rainy has been and still is located at http://dynalon.github.io/Rainy. Check for releases, news, infos and updates that are Rainy specific.

Week 1: PostgreSQL Support & Cleanup

In the first week, I planned to add PostgreSQL support. Since I plan to add more database backends in the future (MySQL, MSSQL) I first had to refactor some classes and interfaces that allow to plug in other backends at a later point. This was the first time I got in contact with the Inversion of Control pattern, as I ended up refactoring most of Rainy’s classes to use constructor-injection and auto wiring using ServiceStack’s Funq IoC container implementation. This was very fun to learn, and I like the concept, especially since ServiceStack uses the IoC  constructor injection pattern everywhere and you can easily hook into it.

After the refactoring, I added the PostgreSQL backend, which was very easy since I already used ServiceStack.OrmLite as an O/R mapper which brings the necessary abstractions.

So, Rainy can now be used using either the SQLite or PostgreSQL backend, allowing to scale for a much larger number of users. My first benchmarks show that SQLite is actually faster than Postgre, but I measured only using a small number of notes and users. For larger databases I think PostgreSQL will outperform SQLite.

Week 2 & 3: Server side encryption

This is one of my favorite tasks that I added to the GSoC proposal, and I think will be the most valueable one. Especially since recent events in the media should have raised awareness of data privacy in the cloud to a broader audience 🙂

Unfortunately, Tomboy and Tomdroid do not yet support full client side encryption of notes, that would enable us to store them safely in the cloud. To overcome this, we can at least implement server-side encryption in Rainy. Notes are encrypted on the fly using AES256 before they are stored in the database, and decrypted transparently upon requesting the notes. The required keys should of course not be stored in plaintext in Rainy’s database, so that it is non-fatal if someday a Rainy server-instance gets hacked and the database is made public.

The crypto implementation was one of the harder pieces in my proposal, and I am happy to tell that it is done and has landed in the git master. For anybody interested in the details how the crypto and the key management works, I wrote developer docs that can be viewed here. Since a basic understanding of encryption is required, I will discus only a easy-to-understand approach here, for details see the developer docs.

What the encryption does

  • works completely in the background and on the fly, no setup on the clients is necessary
  • encrypts every note with a per-note key, which is itself encrypted with the users master key
  • the master key is not stored in the database, but part of the users oauth credentials. That way, if the database gets public the notes can’t be decrypted without the users master key
  • if you lose a device (say your cell phone with Tomdroid) and you immediatley revoke the access token for the device before an attacker finds it, the attacker cannot sync again (but might access the notes that are stored on your phone). No need for changing the password or revoke all tokens
  • Change your password at any time, without re-authenticating any device or client

What the encryption does not

  • replace client-side encryption (which is sadly not available yet)
  • protect your from malicous server administrators – they can still modify Rainy’s code and hijack your keys which should only reside in the RAM

What’s next

For the next weeks I’ve planned to add a Time-Machine like “Go back to version” function into Rainy, that will save all note versions into the database and allows to access any older revision. Very much like the TimeMachine mode os OS X or Dropbox allows to go back to any previous version of a file.

This requires the Tomboy REST API to be extended and might not land into the client software too soon. But it  will  be in the  HTML5 Webinterface client that I will also be doing as part of the 2nd half of the GSoC. More about that in a future blog post 😉

2 responses to “GSoC 2013 – First progress report

  1. Hi Timo!
    Are you also planning to release a Chrome Web App?! A packaged app with offline abilities would be awesome to have (cross-platform etc.)

    Further, will the web-app work on my mobile device too? Are you planning to support Firefox OS?

    😉

    • Hey Jango,

      First step is to get it as a web application delivered by Rainy itself (embedded into the assemblies). Then we’ll see where to go from there. I don’t think an offline chrome app would be easy to do or make sense at all, as there is no client side storage planned – everything comes via AJAX calls from Rainy, and thus require the user to be online. As for the mobile app, I am not sure how well this works. I’ve recently worked at a company doing web-frontend development, and we found it difficult to get a website into a “webapp”. Major problem were different android browser versions supporting only few features that our webapp had, problems with CSS on the mobile browser etc. It can be done, but it is lots of stupid trial’n’error development at the moment. That might change in the future, but I am currently thinking native apps (like Tomdroid) work best on mobile.

Leave a comment